LibGuides: Te Ao Māori: Te Kāinga/Home

eBooks

Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2021
Nga Tini Whetu - Navigating Maori Futures by Mason Durie
Call Number: eBook or 305.8994 DUR

Publication Date: 2013
Te Koparapara by Suzanne Duncan (Editor); Gianna Leoni (Editor); Lachy Paterson (Editor); Matiu Tai Ratima (Editor); Michael Reilly (Editor); Poia Rewi (Editor); Lyn Carter (Editor)
Call Number: eBook or 305.8994 TEK

Publication Date: 2018
Tikanga Maori (Revised Edition) : Living By Maori Values by Hirini Mead
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2016

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Academic Video Online (AVON) provides unlimited remote access to more than 80,000 videos. The database includes academic video material from a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection

Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection
Te Pouhere Kōrero operates as a broad collective of Māori colleagues interested in history. It was established in November 1992, at an inaugural hui convened at Rongopai Marae at Waituhi, near Gisborne, Aotearoa New Zealand. The official journal, Te Pouhere Kōrero – Māori History, Māori People, focuses on Māori and Indigenous history. The collections hosts all 10 volumes.

Te Ao Māori

Te Manu e kai ana te Miro, nōna te ngahere; te Manu e kai ana te mātauranga nōna te ao.

The bird that eats from the miro tree owns the forest; the bird that eats from the tree of knowledge owns the world.

This guide has a selection of resources to support Kaupapa Māori taught at Whitireia and WelTec.

When searching online for Māori resources (Google, Online Databases, Library Catalogues, YouTube), search Māori kupu (words) with and without the tohutō (macron) For example: Maori/Māori. These two keywords can retrieve/show different results. You do not need to double vowel when not using the tohutō. You could also search (Maori) AND (Māori). Search each of these ways in order to get the most relevant resources.

To add the tohutō you press the apostrophe key (top left, next to the 1 key) and the letter you want to have the tohutō placed at the same time. If this does not work, you may need to check that the language on your keyboard is set to Māori. To use the macron on a desktop keyboard, make sure you have added the Māori keyboard.
For use on a smartphone or tablet, hold down the letter that you want to have a tohutō placed on and a selection of options will be provided. Select the appropriate one. Eg. ā ē ī ō ū - Ā Ē Ī Ō Ū

If you have any trouble, do not hesitate to come into the Whitireia or WelTec Whare Pukapuka (Library) or email lss@wandw.ac.nz

ETV

eTV provides programmes recorded off-air from domestic and international television and internet channels that can be viewed and downloaded.

To access eTV, enter your WelTec or Whitireia email address.

Digitised Māori Resources

Te Ao Hou
Te Ao Hou was published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department in New Zealand Aotearoa. According to its first editorial, Te Ao Hou aimed "to provide interesting and informative reading for Maori homes … like a marae on paper, where all questions of interest to the Maori can be discussed."
New Zealand Electronic Text Collection
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library.